Andrew Allison

Blogpower

In Uncategorized on January 13, 2007 at 6:37 pm

This is what I wrote on the comments page on defending the blog just over a week ago.

If anyone has been on Central News they will know in the past two days I have been commenting on it. I disagree with the views of the blog, but tonight I have commented about the BNP on my blog and given Central News a link. I have done this in the interests of free speech and in the ‘blogpower’ spirit. If we start banning people because they are members of the BNP, I will certainly leave. Blogpower has been good for me and I’ve read so many blogs I would never have normally come across. On my blog I urge everyone to stand up for our rights and liberties. Everyone has those rights and liberties whether we agree with them or not.

I have been saddened that other bloggers have left ‘Blogpower.’ I am a libertarian and feel everyone has the right to free speech, however, I have changed some of my views since the posting above.

Tomorrow at 6.00pm we will have a decision on how Blogpower will move on. I will accept any decision that is made, however I would prefer not to link to Central News anymore. I accept his right to free speech – and indeed defend it – but I do not have to give him a platform for his blog. I sincerely hope Central News goes and then I feel we can move on and hopefully get back to something like normality.

  1. Time will tell…

  2. Very well said Andrew, I hope the decision goes favourably.

    Best Regards
    Steve

  3. Just to say I agree with you.

  4. What made you change your opinion?

Leave a Reply

