Andrew Allison

McCain for America?

In Uncategorized on February 1, 2007 at 9:24 pm

I was on the telephone last night to a friend in Ohio, and quite naturally we got to talking about the candidates for the next presidential election. Thankfully it isn’t just me who hasn’t heard of half of them.

For me, I would like to see John McCain become the republican candidate, and go on to win. If he does, I know some will say he is too old – as he will be 72 at the time, but I have always been a fan of the senator. He has gravitas. He doesn’t have to shout when he is speaking, as everyone listens. He has a wealth of experience and can bring together a divided America.

My friend told me that although she felt Guiliani would make a good candidate, there is a feeling in America that he is the voice of New York, and not neccesarily America as a whole. He certainly has a high profile – no denying that – and he is certainly well known on the world stage, however I can see where she is coming from. When you think Guiliani, you do think New York.

For those of you interested in who the candidates are, follow this link for the Washington Post.

Leave a Reply

