Andrew Allison

What John Reid really said

In John Reid, labour on May 6, 2007 at 3:36 pm

John Reid told The Politics Show: “That is a natural break period because if I stay a year and leave then that will be misrepresented.
“Now I’ve done nine jobs in 10 years and I think from my point of view I think it’s a good thing to be able to go out to listen, to learn, to discuss, to get back to the grass roots.
“But also from the point of view of an incoming prime minister. I think the new prime minister should have the maximum flexibility. He needs space.”

Okay, I think now is time for the translation. What Mr Reid really said was this:
“I don’t stand a cat in hell’s chance of becoming prime minister, and I hate my Rt Hon ‘Friend’ with a passion. I would rather swim the Atlantic Ocean than serve in a Brown government.”

That sounds better, doesn’t it? It is so very important to clear these issues up.

Leave a Reply

