Andrew Allison

A Prime Minister with guts

In cricket, John Howard, Zimbabwe on May 13, 2007 at 10:36 am

No, I’m not talking about Tony Blair, or his imminent successor. I’m talking about the Australian Prime Minister, John Howard. He has intervened and banned Australian cricketers from touring Zimbabwe in September as this would be a propaganda coup to this grubby dictator.

Contrast John Howard with Tony Blair.
Mr Blair refused to do the same for English cricketers. He said the taxpayer could not pay any fine levied by the International Cricket Council (ICC). Considering the fine would have been around £2 million, and when you think of the money the government wastes each year, two million quid is a drop in the ocean. Robert Mugabe is a grubby and brutal dictator. He does – as John Howard says – behave like the gestapo towards his political opponents. Playing cricket in Zimbabwe legitimises the Mugabe regime. All we need now is for the ICC top-brass to accept this and suspend Zimbabwe from cricket’s top-flight.

Read an article from ‘The Age’ here.

  1. What have you done to his photo, Andrew? Are you lampooning Howard in this post?

  2. No I’m not James, but I see what you mean about the photo. I hadn’t noticed what I’d done in order to get it to fit it. I will rectify.

  3. I totally agree with you on this one, AA. It was a brave move on Howard’s part and it’s good to see a politician with principles.

  4. Hi, Nice stuff. I found a cool news widget for our blogs at http://www.widgetmate.com. Now I can show the latest news on my blog. Worked like a breeze.

Leave a Reply

