Andrew Allison

Cars and buses

In Uncategorized on September 7, 2007 at 7:16 pm
I remember a few years ago, John Prescott boarding a train at Scarborough Railway Station and telling everyone that this was the way to travel. Leave your cars at home. The train tootled along the line for a few miles and came to a halt at Seamer. ‘Two Jags’ then got off the train and was driven off in his government jaguar.
I also remember the Mr Prescott cycling along Holderness Road in Hull. He was extolling the virtues of cycling – whilst looking rather ridiculous – not telling us watching on television that the police had cleared the aforementioned road of traffic to allow Mr Prescott to stage his publicity stunt.
I know it is not just Mr Prescott who is guilty of this type of hypocrisy, although he is a very easy target, and the next time I see a politician telling me I should leave my car at home and catch a bus, I’ll remember what happened to me this morning.
I had to go to the garage this morning as my car was leaking engine coolant. After waiting for an hour and a half, I decided to go back home. It was either walk or catch the bus. I checked the timetable on the bus stop and discovered there was a bus due any moment. I waited for around five minutes and decided to walk instead, and it was a good job I did. By the time I had walked to the bus stop where I would have alighted, there was still people waiting for this bus that was by then over 20 minutes late. Whether it turned up or not, I don’t know, however, I was lucky. I could walk the distance. There are plenty of people who cannot. That is why I will never leave my car at home and rely on public transport. It is fine if you live in a city or a large town. There are some bus routes in Hull that run services every 12 minutes, but the bus I was waiting for was an hourly service from Scarborough.
So my message to cabinet ministers, running around in their chauffeur driven cars, is; try relying on a bus out in the sticks for a week, and then tell us to leave our cars at home. You never know, it may just shut them up.
  1. What used to drive me absolutely beserk in London was waiting for a N53 in the Deptford direction, for example and once I counted 6 of them going the other way plus a N54 which was also useful, before one came our way.

    Drive you insane.

Leave a Reply

