Andrew Allison

In June it rained and rained

In Uncategorized on November 4, 2007 at 8:35 pm

For me, June was a month I would rather forget. On Monday June 25, Hull was thrown in to chaos as the biggest flood the city has seen, flooded thousands of properties and as readers of this blog will know, my house flooded. This is what I wrote the day after:

Many of you will have heard about the floods that have besieged Hull and surrounding areas during the past couple of days. Unfortunately I have fallen victim to the floodwater. Yesterday afternoon at around 4.00pm the water came through the floorboards and soaked the downstairs carpets and flooded the kitchen floor. Becky and her son were held hostage with me, as getting out of Kingswood was an impossibility. We simply had to retreat to the upstairs and hibernate up there.

This morning there was the usual smell you associate from this sort of this thing. I also have drainage problems and can’t have a bath or flush one of my toilets without the risk of it overflowing. Thankfully I will not have to live there until things are sorted out, as Becky’s mum had kindly allowed me to stay with them.

So watch this space and I will keep you up-to-date with all the latest developments as they occur. I do feel lucky however. There are many people whose homes have been flooded with two to three feet of water and they will find it difficult to find another place to stay if their insurance companies will not oblige them with a hotel room. Out of adversity, everyone is pulling together and that ‘wartime spirit’ is very evident and visible.


Thankfully things are moving at a good pace, eventually, and today the three of us have been out choosing a carpet, tiles and paint. We hope to be back home by Christmas, but even if we don’t, we know it will not be too long in to January. The trails and tribulations have been many and the loss adjusters until recently have been worse than useless. A few weeks ago a new loss adjuster started to get things moving and I have been very grateful to him. Without his professionalism, I don’t think we would have been in a position to move back until spring at the earliest.

  1. I’m glad there is at least some progress, Andrew. And now I read more floods are threatened on the east coast. Do you think you will be affected this time? Thinking of you.

Leave a Reply

